bucket list

The years are passing me by quicker than I’d like to admit and I can’t help but be a little sensitive about my age.  I’m young, but I won’t be that young for that long… so I have to make the most of my youth.  I don’t want to waste my twenties away and become an old woman… filled with regret, ‘what if’s and ‘if only’s.  So, as the first half of my twenties is going to be over in less than two years, I figure I should economize the time that’s left by setting some goals for myself…

Here’s what I have for my Quarter Century Bucket List:

  1. Lose all excess weight
  2. Train for and run some sort of marathon for charity
  3. Road trip cross-country to Cali
  4. Live in France (Paris or Nice) for at least a month, but ideally three months or more
  5. Do relief work in Haiti
  6. Publish a small volume of poetry or a short novel
  7. Learn Spanish… and if I have time Italian and Arabic
  8. Be classically trained in the piano

To some, this might seem a bit ambitious, but when I really think about it, if I apply myself there’s no reason I can’t accomplish 90% of this list by the time that October 27, 2012 rolls around…

I just want to feel a sense of accomplishment, as if I achieved exactly what I wanted when I wanted.  I find my biggest regrets is what I missed out on, not so much the mistakes or missteps I’ve made.  At least what I’ve done wrong has contributed to the person I am today, a person that I can honestly say I am content to be.  But the things that I didn’t do… I will never know where they would have brought me.  If there’s one thing I hate, it’s being unsure.  Not knowing.   Since I am in a constant pursuit of knowledge, it kills me.

So this list is me telling myself that I’m going to do something about it and no longer let opprotunities pass me by.

I’m tired of wishing my life was better.  What’s stopping me from making it better?

.

~ L. Astounded

Leave a Reply

