F@#$%* Boring!

Fresh  from my twelve day trip to Scotland/London, I’m feeling refreshed and ready to take a new outlook on life.  I cried a little coming back because I was reminded of how much I loved the UK and how badly I had wanted to stay there.  But I’ve recovered from that, reminding myself that it’s all about looking forward, not back, and making the most out of my present situation.

My complaints about life are usually the following:  ‘I’m bored’,  ‘Adulthood is boring’,  ‘When did I become so boring?’,  or some other phrase in which I use a form of the word ‘bored’.   After speaking with a recently married friend of mine out in London (Mary), she had me ask myself: why do I have to rely on other people to make life more interesting?  I love going out and I’m always open to try new experiences, but I largely depend on other people to introduce me to these things or to do things with me… why?

I guess on some level I’m afraid of doing things by myself.  But I’ve had enough of boring.  If I can’t find someone to do things with, I will do them by myself, dammit!  That might mean I’ll have to go to an intimate concert, museum, indie film screening or art event alone, but hell!  I’m tired of being bored!  And if the thought of going alone is just so overwhelmingly daunting, I’m just gonna have to take a few swigs of liquid courage and get through it.

Anyway, Mary made a great point, doing all these things by myself may very well make me more interesting and attract those elusive others to me.  Pretty soon, others may be inspired to come along with me.  And who knows?   I might even meet people there.  People are great and I want to surround myself with lots of friendly and interesting people.  But I don’t NEED anyone.  I can make life more interesting for me by myself.

So the plan is to take advantage on being within a stone throw of these big, thriving cities (NYC, Jersey City and Newark) and within reasonable traveling distance of Philly, Trenton and New Brunsick… There’s tons of stuff to do in these places! So I’m making a budget, googling events, and grouponing it out!   At least, every other week, I’m going to do something interesting, with or without company…

As I said before:  F@#$%* boring!  Bring it on, Life….

Leave a Reply

