Heartbreaker

I’ve been in an angsty mood lately, easily discernible by the amount of emo and grunge music I’ve been listening to.   The angst inspired me to complete a song that I had started writing some time ago, but could never finish.

It’s called ‘Heartbreaker’… It’s really about a breaking of  a home, not falling out of love.   I hope you like the lyrics:

(Verse 1)

When you broke the news
I couldn’t read your face
Never thought that we’d be here, seven inches short of falling from grace

Couldn’t let you see me cry
So I left the tears insides
And I did not mourn until you turned your back and said your damn good-byes

(Refrain)

I guess you’ll never know how
Close you came to breaking my heart

And every single day that passed
It took all I had
To keep from falling apart

(Verse 2)

And so we came to our oh, so tragic end
It’s just so torn apart, there’s no way my heart can mend
But I don’t regret a single tear
Or a single year
For as badly as we crashed and burned
Our love was bright when it had its turn

(Refrain)
I guess you’ll never know how
Close you came to breaking my heart

And every single day that passed
It took all I had
To keep from falling apart

(Bridge)
It hurt so bad, it stabbed like knife
It would have been kinder to take my life
As you walk away, with blood on your hands
I stand here waiting, trying to understand

There is no death on record, but you killed me
Yeah, you killed me
But I’m too proud to let you know
So I won’t ever let you know

(Refrain)

That’s why you’ll never know how
Close you came to breaking my heart

And every single day that passed
It took all I had
To keep from falling apart

I guess you’ll never know how
Close you came to breaking my heart

And every single day that passed
It took all I had
To keep from falling apart

Leave a Reply

