Discipline

I admire people with discipline.  Mostly because I think I lack the ability to deny myself sometimes, even when necessary.

Recently, after some deep reflection, I’ve had to rectify my admiration a bit.  Why?  Because I’ve observed circumstances when discipline just plain sucks.

There really should be a balance of risk taking, pushing yourself, moving forward and withholding or denying yourself something for the sake of ultimate benefit.

Having discipline without being goal-oriented is just… well, restraint.  And who wants to hold themselves back all the time?

Just a thought.

Leave a Reply

